Hello, awesome readers! I hope you’re doing well. 

For the last three years or so, I’ve been selectively participating in NaNoWriMo and Camp NaNoWriMo. For anyone who doesn’t know about it, it’s a month-long, international writing competition that happens in November, April, and July. You set your own word count goal, enter information about your novel or other writing project, and there are fun forums on which to interact with people of all parts of the world and genres! Here’s a link to the NaNoWriMo site and one to Camp NaNoWrimo, as well. 🙂

There are tons of resources, sponsor offers for winners (anyone who writes more than their goal during the month), and other fun stuff to explore on the sites. This July, since my family just moved and my schedule is pretty empty, I’m going to be writing Birthday Candles, my Portal 2 fanfiction! Since I already have about 6,000 words written (see here for Chapter 1 on this blog), my goal for the month is going to be that plus the average word count goal suggested and attempted by writers: 50,000. 

IMG_2750

I’ll hopefully be posting regular updates on the blog as to how my progress is coming along– no spoilers or anything, though; so be sure to check back for the actual chapters! Since NaNo is a writing challenge and not necessarily an edit-as-you-write challenge, Birthday Candles might be uploaded more slowly than I’m finishing it. Hopefully that all makes sense and you’re still excited to see what happens.

Let me know if you’ve ever participated, and if you are this year, what you’re writing! Peace!

Leave a Reply

